Saturday, November 26, 2022

What Happens When You Delete Your Facebook Account

Don't Miss

Delete Or Deactivate What To Do With Your Old Accounts

What happens when a user deletes their Facebook page?

18 September 2020

When you stop using a social networking profile or website, it is a good idea to deactivate or delete your account. This will mean that your content is no longer visible online and should not be searchable online. It will also remove the risk of these accounts being used by others or hacked without you knowing.

This blog gives site specific guidance about how to deactivate or delete your accounts, and what these options mean.

On Facebook You Have The Options Of Either Deactivating And Deleting Your Account

If you deactivate your account:

  • You can reactivate it whenever you want. This will mean you can access your photos, videos, friends and groups again.
  • People cant see your timeline or find your account in a search unless you reactivate the account.
  • Some things may remain visible .
  • You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. Youll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in to complete the reactivation.

To deactivate your account:

  • 5. Choose Deactivate Account, then Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.
  • When Your Facebook account is deactivated, but you still have Messenger:

    • You can still chat with friends on Messenger.
    • Your Facebook profile picture will still be visible in your conversations on Messenger.
    • Other people can search for you to send you a message within Messanger.

    If you delete your account:

    To delete your account:

  • Choose Permanently Delete Account then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  • Click Delete Account, enter your password and then click Continue.
  • Social Media: What Happens When You Delete Your Account

    When you delete your Twitter account:

    • You need to deactivate your account using your account settings.
    • Your account should be deactivated within a few minutes, but some content may be viewable for a few days.
    • Data is only retained for 30 days from date of deactivation after which it is deleted. Twitter retains its licence to use any content you post .
    • If you want to use the same username or email address on another Twitter account later, you must remember to change both before deactivation.
    • Your profile may still show up in public search engine results because Twitter does not control content indexed by search engines like Google or Bing.
    • You remain liable and responsible for any consequences of content posted.

    When you delete your Facebook profile:

    When you delete your LinkedIn profile:

    Nerushka Deosaran is a communications, media and entertainment associate within South Africas technology sector.

    You May Like: What Does A Blue Arrow Mean On Snapchat

    More articles

    Popular Articles

    How Do I Contact Gmail