How To Deactivate Your Instagram Account
Not quite ready to totally walk away? If you feel like a trial separation from Instagram is all you need, then consider deactivating your Instagram account. Unfortunately, you cant deactivate Instagram on iPhone or Android using the Instagram app. Youll need to use your computer or mobile browser.
Heres how to deactivate your Instagram account on your computer or a mobile browser.
Your Instagram account will be immediately hidden and not discoverable via search or other means. Your user name, photos, likes, followers, and comments will all be preserved.
How To Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently
If youre ready to pull the plug for good on your Instagram habits, youll need to be on your computer or a mobile browser. Unfortunately, you cannot delete an Instagram account on iPhone or Android via the Instagram app.
Heres how to delete your Instagram account permanently.
Your account will immediately be hidden from view and will be permanently deleted 30 days later, including all photos, likes, followers, and comments associated with your account.
Throughout the 30-day period, if you change your mind about deleting your account, you can log back into Instagram to stop the account deletion process.
How To Download Instagram Data On Iphone And Android
If youre wondering how to delete an Instagram account on iPhone or an Android device, do the following:
It can take up to 48 hours to receive your download file. Youll receive an email with the subject line Your Instagram Data. Click the link in the email to download your file.
Recommended Reading: What Does A Red Square Mean On Snapchat
How To Download Instagram Data On A Computer Or Mobile Browser
If youre accessing Instagram on a web browser, heres how to request your data file.
Within 48 hours, you will receive an email titled Your Instagram Data. Follow the link in the email to retrieve your file.
How To Reactivate An Instagram Account
If you previously deactivated your Instagram account but now want it back, follow these steps.
If you change your mind right away after deactivating your account, you may have to wait up to 24 hours before you can reactivate it. Instagram typically takes several hours to complete deactivation requests. Until that process is complete, you wont be able to reactivate your account.
Also Check: Linkedin Indent Bullets
Delete Or Deactivate What To Do With Your Old Accounts
18 September 2020
When you stop using a social networking profile or website, it is a good idea to deactivate or delete your account. This will mean that your content is no longer visible online and should not be searchable online. It will also remove the risk of these accounts being used by others or hacked without you knowing.
This blog gives site specific guidance about how to deactivate or delete your accounts, and what these options mean.
On Facebook You Have The Options Of Either Deactivating And Deleting Your Account
If you deactivate your account:
- You can reactivate it whenever you want. This will mean you can access your photos, videos, friends and groups again.
- People cant see your timeline or find your account in a search unless you reactivate the account.
- Some things may remain visible .
- You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. Youll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in to complete the reactivation.
To deactivate your account:
When Your Facebook account is deactivated, but you still have Messenger:
- You can still chat with friends on Messenger.
- Your Facebook profile picture will still be visible in your conversations on Messenger.
- Other people can search for you to send you a message within Messanger.
If you delete your account:
To delete your account:
Also Check: How To Let Snapchat Access Camera
Deactivate Vs Delete: Which Is Right For You
Instagram doesnt want you to leave the platform right away, so its not an all-or-nothing proposition. Instagram gives you two options permanently deleting your account or temporarily deactivating it.
Here are the key differences.
|Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently||Deactivate Your Instagram Account Temporarily|
|Deleting is permanent and cannot be undone||When deactivating, you can reactivate your account at any time just by logging in|
|When deleting, all your photos, followers, likes, and comments are permanently removed||When deactivating, your photos, followers, comments, and likes are preserved|
|When deleting, you could lose your user name if someone else claims it||When deactivating, you can hide your account indefinitely and not lose your username|