New Messenger Feature Gives You Ability To Remove Messages For Everyone
Have you ever accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply wanted to remove a message in a chat? Youre not the only one! Starting today, we are launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger whether its to one person or a group.
Simply tap on the message you want to remove and select the option to Remove for Everyone. The removed message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed. You will have up to 10 minutes to remove a message after it is sent.
If you want to remove a message just for yourself, you can still do that anytime by selecting Remove for You. When you choose this option, the message will be removed for you, but not for anybody else in the chat.
As always, you can report conversations that violate our Community Standards. The remove message for everyone feature is available for Messenger users around the world on the latest versions of iOS and Android.
Tap And Hold The Message
Open Facebook Messenger > navigate to the message that you want to delete.
Firstly, open the Facebook Messenger app on your device.
Once youre on the app, navigate to the message that you want to delete from both sides.
On the chat, tap and hold the message for three seconds.
For example, if the message that you want to delete is Hi, tap and hold the Hi chat bubble for three seconds.
This is similar to deleting a message on WhatsApp and most messaging apps.
In the next step, youll learn how to find the Remove option.
When You Delete A Conversation On Messenger Does It Delete For The Other Person
When you delete a conversation on Messenger, it does not delete it for the other person.
Your messages will only be deleted for the other person if you unsent all of them individually.
Whenever you send a message on Messenger, youre given the option to unsend it or delete it for yourself.
As long as you didnt unsend the message, the other person will still be able to see your conversation between them.
You May Like: Gmail Empty Promotions
How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides
Did you accidentally send a message to someone that you didnt intend to?
Sending messages to the wrong person or the wrong group is a common mistake.
If youve been using messaging apps for a while, youre bound to make this mistake at least once.
But dont fret, most messaging apps in the present allows you to delete your message from both sides.
However, some apps like WhatsApp only allows you to delete messages from both sides within a certain time frame.
But does Messenger have a time limit?
In this guide, youll learn how to delete messages on Facebook Messenger from both sides in 4 easy steps .
Can You Tell If Someone Deleted Your Conversation On Messenger
No, you wont be able to tell if someone deleted your conversation on Messenger.
You will only be able to tell if someone deleted your conversation if they unsent their messages.
Whenever you delete a conversation on Messenger, the other person will not be notified of it.
In addition, the conversation will not be deleted for the other person.
Recommended Reading: How Do I Sort My Pinterest Boards Alphabetically